Blogging with Windows Live Writer 2011. 1.Let’s begin!

There are many users who blog who have never heard of Windows Live Writer, so I have decided to spread the word about the best blogging editor out there bar none. I can guarantee that once you have tried out Writer, you’ll wonder how you ever managed without it and as its free, what have you got to loose? Firstly you’ll need to download it to your computer as its a desktop program, but the upside of that is you can write your blog posts offline if you have no internet connection, and publish to your blog later at a time to suit you.

1. Go to http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-live/essentials-other-programs where you can download the 2011 Essentials Suite. Once the installer has downloaded, you will see a Window where you can choose which programs to install, just Live Writer or any of the other programs. As an aside, Photo Gallery works quite well with Writer and is a free photo editing program that you may find useful.

Choose your programs to install

2.  NOTE!  This edition of Live Writer does not work with XP, if you are using XP you will have to download the previous version of Writer. In Vista and Windows 7, its a good idea to pin Writer to your taskbar so that it is just one click away to use. Once downloaded and installed, Writer will invite you to Configure it for your blog so click on Next.

Configure Live Writer

3. Choose the blogging platform that you use, WordPress, Sharepoint, Blogger or Typepad. Writer will also work with LiveJournal and most other blog platforms. For my demo I am going to set up two of my blogs, one on WordPress and one on Blogger. In the topmost area you need to put the URL  (website address) of your blog. If you don’t know this, go to your blog online and note or copy the address from the address bar in your browser.

Filling in the details of your blog

4. Tick the remember my password if you don’t want Writer to be constantly asking for it and then select Next. Writer will then begin to fully sync with your blog settings, the background, the fonts you use, in fact every detail of your blogs theme or template will be synced with. This is so that you can see exactly how your posts will look as you compose them and before publication. It’s what makes Writer so unique and to my knowledge, it is the only blogging editor that is capable of true WYSIWYG syncing.

Writer does its stuff

5. As soon as Writer has completed its sync with your blog, you will see the post area of your blog in its entirety presented in the Writer editing window as shown below.

WYSIWYG edit screen

6. If you have other blogs either on a different blogging platform or even the same one, then simply repeat the procedure as described for each one by clicking on the title of your currently configured blog (to the right of the Publish icon, and select Add Blog Account  from the drop down list. You can add as many blog accounts as you wish from different blogging platforms. I have quite a few on the go including photo blogs and Writer successfully syncs with them all.

Showing list of my blogs

The full sync is best illustrated with another of my blogs which uses a fairly complicated looking theme on WordPress. In the next two screens I am showing you the blog itself online in WordPress and then the editing screen inside Writer to illustrate how Writer really does show your posts exactly as they will look when published.

Firstly, here’s my blog as it appears online.

Screenshot (53)

  And here is that very same post in the Writer editing window where you write and compose your blog post.

Screenshot (54)

Of course the sidebar is missing, we don’t need it for composing the actual blog post of course, and the blog title is also not necessary, but all fonts used, size of fonts etc are present and correct, as is the theme used itself. In a later post, we’ll cover writing one post and then posting the same post to more than one blog which I tend to use fairly often. To see the whole of your blog including the Title and the sidebar, simply click on Preview at the bottom left hand side of the editing screen.

Preview your post

Next post we’ll cover beginning to write your post, choosing your fonts and size of fonts, choosing a header and taking a look at general formatting of your post.

Technogran

About technogran
A granny and a geek? You bet! Still trying desperately to keep up with it all.

15 Responses to Blogging with Windows Live Writer 2011. 1.Let’s begin!

  1. Pingback: Live Writer Tutorial Series « Live Writer Basics

  2. foreualways says:

    I am sure you can’t do this as the option not there! But I am on a ‘shared’ computer at home and I don’t want anyone to have excess to my account. So short of setting up another profile there no way to log out of WLW like I do with my email is there????

    Thanks!

  3. technogran says:

    I am not sure to what you are referring to, what is it you are trying to do? Your not technically ‘logged in’ to Writer as such apart from when you log in to your computer. Please try and be more specific and I’ll help as much as I can. What are you trying to do?

    • foreualways says:

      Three people use your house computer and it all under one profile.
      So anyone of them would have access to your account in WLW.
      Like with messenger I can log out and someone else can log in!
      With Writer, there no logging in and out, my account / profile all stay ‘logged in’ active the whole time!

      Does that explain it better?
      Thanks!

  4. scenenotspokenBeatrice P. Boyd says:

    Hi Technogran, we previously exchanged comments on Ludwig’s blog post about blogging with Word. At the time, I was using a MacBook and the MarsEdit blogging software while on vacation and commented that it is not like LW which I use on my desktop PC when at home. Unfortunately, it is the best of the bunch for Macs. That said, I am back to using LW as we are home. Today I did a blog post referencing your excellent LW tutorials and urging folks to try it out and support it. Several folks commented they were unfamiliar with it; others already use and love it. Hopefully fellow bloggers spreading the word and trying it will help keep it active and supported by MS.

    • technogran says:

      That’s exactly what we all need to do. If you use Live Writer and consider it essential for your blogging, then spread the word by whatever means you can, either to any of your blogging friends, or via Twitter or Facebook, it doesn’t take much time to do, and its amazing just how many bloggers there are who simply don’t know anything about it! Microsoft never advertise it, in fact, when you install the Essentials Suite, Writer is relegated to having to go and search for it in START, ALL PROGRAMS, WINDOWS LIVE on Windows 7. It’s practically hidden! Let’s all fight to save this wonderful little program and guarantee its future.

  5. Cheryl says:

    I have been reading your tutorials for Live Writer and I think I’ll really like this for blogging. I must add that I was alerted to your blog by Beatrice P. Boyd.
    I do have a question about getting started. I downloaded LW and when entering in my username and password, it won’t accept it for some reason. I assumed we were to put in a new username and password for LW. What username and password are we to enter and if a new one, what might be causing it not to work? Thanks!!

    • Technogran says:

      You state that you are inserting your username and password into Writer, I presume in order to set up your blog so that Writer can sync with it. Which platform are you using? WordPress, Blogger? In the user name area, input your user name, the same one that you use when accessing your blog in the case of WordPress, so if you access your blog with a user name such as ‘cherrypie’ for example, use that. Then input your password, the same one that you use on WordPress. Check that you have spelt them right, and they work when you access your blog online. (In a browser) Also check that you have copied the URL address of your blog exactly right.
      Once you have input the correct credentials, Writer should sync with your blog correctly. If it doesn’t, then go online to your blog, and check that you have the correct website address, correct user name and also correct password. I would write them down to make sure. Get back to me if it still doesn’t work.

  6. Cheryl says:

    Thanks so much for your quick response! I’m still having problems, unfortunately. I’m using correct password, but blogger can’t find a username for me according to their email and there is no place that I can see to set one up. I put in the name I use on my blog. I don’t know what else to do. Hope you can advise. Thanks again.

  7. Cheryl says:

    I’ve finally figured it out! The lightbulb finally came on for me….I was leaving off part of the address. Sorry for the above complaint! Thanks so much again for your help and for this wonderful tutorial, I know that it will be of great help to me. I’m sure once I’ve learned more about LW and used it, I will gladly spread the word and link back to your tutorial.

    • Technogran says:

      I’m so glad that you have finally figured out why Writer was unable to sync with your blog. Don’t worry, you are not on your own, there are plenty of users who stumble at the filling in of the URL address and also the username and password. I do hope that you find my posts useful to you, and enjoy using Writer to compose and publish your blog posts.

  8. Rich says:

    Hi,
    I just found your blog. I am interested in trying WLW, but I have several blogs. Can I sign up with one, then somehow use it for a different blog(s) after signing up? Thank you for your answer.
    Rich

    • Technogran says:

      You can use Writer with as many blogs as you wish, whether on here at WordPress or some other blogging platform such as Blogger. I use it with four blogs, two on here and two on Blogger.

  9. Right here is the right website for anybody who wants to understand this
    topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I
    personally would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a subject that has been discussed for
    decades. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  10. safyia says:

    Hi I change my blog address often for security purposes …anyway i am using WLW to post to blogger, do i have to update the new address for the blog every time in WLW it is changed?
    thanks so much…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,915 other followers

