Facebook, my pet peeves.

facebook-icon3 Along with the rest of the world, I am on Facebook. I first joined Facebook because a family member asked me to. At first it seemed okay. Another way to keep in touch with family and friends. Some of my family began asking me to join them in using certain applications on there. The first time I accepted  I was puzzled as to why the application needed not only all  of my details in order to work, but also requested that I  include a certain amount of my family/friends details as well. Why? Why does an application, whether it be a game or anything else on Facebook NEED all of your details and those of your friends before it will work?

If I download a game to my computer to play, it doesn’t need to know my life history before it allows me to download and play it? And more importantly, what do these applications do with all of the supplied data that they insist that they need?

Allow access

You could of course argue that they need all that data in order to spread themselves around Facebook (sounds like a virus doesn’t it?) thereby ending up being used by more people. I would argue that if your application or game is good enough, then your users would tell their family and friends about it anyway. What’s wrong with simply relying on ‘word of mouth’ to increase your usage?

Then following the build up on Facebook of these applications such as games and the like, we are all now inundated with  the downright annoying ‘nags’ about them in our feeds.  Despite posting to my feed countless times that I am NOT interested in joining ‘Farmhouse Families’ or ‘Mafia shoot up’ or anything else for that matter, I still get pestered to join this or that. So I block that particular application. Problem solved? NO! Because no sooner do you block one application than along comes another one in its wake! Grrr! There must be one new application born every few minutes on Facebook, or that’s how it seems to me!  I can’t keep up with the blocking and hiding!

Another bloody app There are other niggles I have with Facebook. How you can’t use your nickname for example or the fact that it doesn’t use RSS feeds so that I can check any updates in my desktop email program.

I would close my account on there in a jiffy but most of my family also use Facebook  regularly and I also have some long term friends from Live Journal on there as well. Hmm. Think I might have to do some serious culling of contacts on there especially those who are always nagging me to join this or join that.

TG

Digg This
About technogran
A granny and a geek? You bet! Still trying desperately to keep up with it all.

24 Responses to Facebook, my pet peeves.

  1. Tricia says:

    Oh I so agree with you. I will not let Facebook connect to my profile, friends, photos, etc. it feels so invasive. THis means that I also hide any games people are playing, and don’t accept flowers, or pillow fights, or anything else.

    The concept is good, but the invasiveness a definite No No for me.

    Is Twitter the same?

    • technogran says:

      No twitter is entirely different Tricia, and is a different usage altogether. You spread any news you have on Twitter, such as a website that you have found, some news about a new gadget, etc, or perhaps news that you have made a new post to your blog. You have only 140 letters in which to do so, so its kept more like a sort of ‘newsreel’ of stuff.
      Its not everyone’s cup of tea, and the first time I began to use it, I just didn’t get it at all.

  2. Marjie says:

    I cannot agree with you more. I get so fed up with having to keeping hitting the NO button every time I do anything on Facebook, but like you I don’t want to come off as a lot of my family and friends are on (haven’t found you though !!!) Hope you feeling brighter today. x

  3. Jackey S says:

    ..and not only do they want your details, they also want your money. If you get to a certain level in some games, you cannot progress further without paying – you need x number of reward points and they want your debit card details. Uh oh!
    I use Facebook, ( I didn’t relise you were there as well ), but quite often it feels like texting, but with pictures. J x

    • technogran says:

      Yes I am there (reluctantly!) Do all be careful with any details that you give on there, its a minefield. I would never divulge my account details on there.

    • technogran says:

      Jackie I am all over the place! (meeting myself most of the time. Yes I am on there but as Facebook insists that you use your real name, you won’t find me under my usual moniker of technogran.
      I have to use my real name (although they state that this is so folks can find you on there, its a misdemeanor because most know me by my nickname.)

      • Penny says:

        I think you can change your name in the profile editing.
        I’ve see a Rum Punch and other names like that so you could Techno Gran.
        x

  4. Tricia says:

    Thanks … Facebook and Twitter both seem to be shorthand for conversations!!
    What I do like about this site though is that the comments come through in full on my email, so I don’t need to keep checking to see if anyone is out there and has posted a further comment ….. not that this has anything to do with Facebook, though that also lets me know when there are changes … which is on the plus side.

    • technogran says:

      Yes there is that, although if you are meaning Windows Live you can get alerts delivered down to your email address when someone makes a comment on your blog post on there and you can also read ALL the comments made on your blog just by using the RSS feeds in your email program such as Windows Live mail. That is how I do it.
      RSS feeds are very powerful and useful for reading any updates if a site uses them. Facebook doesn’t so I can’t read all my updates on there in my email program.

      • Tricia says:

        Well I must be totally doff, because I can’t seem to get that to happen … Will you give me a step-by-step guide as to how to get comments to my inbox? I don’t use windows Live Mail, but a regular internet service provider, and my emails go into Outlook … is it still possible with this?

  5. technogran says:

    Hmm. Can’t do a straight reply to Tricia and Penny. O.K well penny I will try that and see if it works. Tricia, I am not sure if Outlook works with Internet Explorer or not as I never use it for my emails. Will try and find out for you.
    If you download Windows Live Mail from here http://download.live.com/wlmail/?wa=wsignin1.0 (don’t worry it SHOULD import all your settings, then go to your HOME page using Internet Explorer. Click on the orange RSS feed in IE and it will then ask you to subscibe to it. Do that. Now go back to your desktop, start Windows Live Mail. At the bottom left hand corner (in the column that lists all your email accounts) click on that same orange icon. That feed (what’s new with your network) should be there. (you can rename it if you wish to do so) Now click on it. At the moment it will be just a summary. Look at the toolbar and click on ‘Manage feeds’ then click on your What’s new with my network feed, another line will then appear, click on that and ‘EDIT FEEDS’ will appear, click on it and tick ‘show articles as webpage instead of a summary’ you can also choose how many you want to come down in this window and also how often you want WLM to fetch that feed. Click on OK. Now you will see every update, every post, including ALL comments and you can then ‘click through’ from there to comment .See my post about it here at http://gadgetgran.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!2418D1CD90C52C20!2792.entry

    • Tricia says:

      Thanks TG. I think I’ll wait until I have windows 7, have given up work and am only really dealing with personal stuff and then try it. I use Outlook a lot as I can sort my mail in to different folders and it works well with my calendar, etc. I don’t want to loose the flagging system, etc.
      I have my comments show on IE, but I have to check what’s there … I like what you have done with this one and the ease of requesting an email link. Have you suggested this to the Windows Live Team for their new improvements??

      • technogran says:

        Tricia, I will give you the instructions for getting alerts sent to you mail box of all comments made on your blog. At the top of your Spaces page, you will see across the top some choices. On the right hand side is ‘Sign up for Alerts’ click on it Tricia. You will then be in another window. Click on continue. On the next page, decide what sort of alerts you wish to receive. In your case choose Blog entries and comments or just ‘comments’ at the bottom. Then supply the letters in the Captcha and then click on Submit.
        Then you should receive alerts when anyone comments on your blog. The only problem is that this method has not been working very well recently, but its worth a try to see if it will work for you.
        TG

  6. technogran says:

    Just tried to change it to Techno (first name)Gran second name and nahh! Its been rejected so I don’t know how the others manage it. Mind you, my nickname is technogran on there but they don’t allow you to use it as your main name…drat!

  7. Calvin says:

    Hi TG,
    No I’m not stalking you, we just read the same blogs and your blog is one of several I fully enjoy. As far as you feeling about Facebook, I couldn’t agree more. I hate all of the 3rd party apps that clutter it’s landscape. I’ve resorted to using Facebook Lite http://lite.facebook.com It really helps eliminate all h clutter. The other thing I’ve done is switch to Seesmic for my Twitter destop app since it very nicely integrates Twitter and Facebook feeds. I can review and update Twitter, Facebook or both without ever having to go to the web. Here’s the address if you’re interested. http://seesmic.com/
    See you on the social networks…
    Cheers – Cal

    • technogran says:

      Dear Calvin, I am not talking about you! LOL It’s someone else! I don’t mind you being on the same sites as me! Why on earth did you think I meant you? Perhaps I shouldn’t have posted about it, I didn’t realise that some might think I was referring to them.
      I have tried out Seesmic before in fact they send me emails but I am not bothered about Facebook updates on my desktop and so prefer blu.
      I might try the new version of Seesmic out though. Thanks for the tip.

  8. Calvin says:

    Ha, no problem that’s just my sense of humor. By the way, Seesmic just added functionality to display the new Twitter Groups. I like Blu too but find that having Twitter and Facebook updates in only place just makes things simpler.

    Looking forward to your future posts.

  9. Tricia says:

    Well, this is intersting. I followed all the steps you suggested and it is happy to send me emails of new comments … but it has arbitarily picked a different (corporate) spaces and does not provide me with the option to link my own “Thoughts” page. I can’t think why or how to change this so I’ll wait for a comment and see if anything comes through!!!

    Thanks TG, as always, you are a mine of information and save many wasted hours of self-discovery!!

    • technogran says:

      Okay well its all or nothing I’m afraid Tricia, but at least now you get an email when someone comments and can then click on it and journey up there to make your reply. I’ll make a comment on your blog and see if you get it, okay?

      • Tricia says:

        It worked!!! You’re a genius. Thank you so much …. Now, is there a way to know when there are new blogs or comments on my friends WLS that will also come into my email??
        Yes Tricia. Go to their Spaces page. Look either at the top or in their sidebar depending on where they have placed that module that contains Alerts. Click on Alerts. Now this time, you are wanting a different sort of Alert. Because its not your Space, you need to choose either the top choice of Blog entries, photo albums and lists, or just Blog entries and comments, just blog entries or just photo albums. Okay?

  10. Mr Lazy says:

    You can have RSS feeds with FB but you have to use a 3rd party app – just do a search on “RSS Feed” or use the Application Directory. The problem is choosing which one to use. I use one simply called “RSS News Feed Reader” and it’s fine.

Leave a Reply

