Blogging. The missing piece of the Internet OS.

Yesterday after following a link from a tweet made by a friend on Twitter, I took the time to read this very interesting post from Tim O’Reilly about the internet and how he sees its changing role where he states that in his view it is turning into an operating system. You can read his ideas about it  HERE.

I have to confess that for me, being a mere user and one long in the tooth at that, it was heavy going but as I came to the end of the post,  I was left wondering why there seemed to be a missing element to it all. Wasn’t there a vital ingredient missing? The very element that had allowed Tim to say all he had to say and this Granny to be able to read his thoughts and opinions? Yes you’ve guessed it. Blogging.

Further down the page he had included a chart consisting of all the big players at the moment that he considers might be the deciders and holders of the key (my phrase) to this ‘Internet Operating System’  and although in my view there should never be ANY one company or platform EVER control the Internet, it should always be free of control, I was struck by how there was no mention of Blogging on the included chart either.

Chart showing what everyone offers 

It was as blogging didn’t exist as an entity.  Music. Books, Web Content, Photos, Video, you name it , everything but the kitchen sink was included EXCEPT the very tool that he himself was currently using to get his points across to everyone else who happened to be interested in reading it!

Like many users I make use of Twitter. I’m also on Facebook and  Windows Live.  I buy things from Amazon and I have an email account with Google. I also blog. When I tweet its often to publicize a blog post I have just published. Same use with Facebook. Again I use it as a tool to let everyone know about my latest post. Most of the links that I click on from friends on Twitter take me to someone else’s blog post. Twitter might be used mostly for ‘broadcasting’ news headlines quickly, but if you want to get more information about that news headline, you usually end up reading someone’s blog post.

It is blogs that are quickly replacing newspapers. We no longer need the printed copy when we can get exactly the same content online via a blog post. Of course many blogs are ‘professional’ blogs where the person or author is getting paid for the content, not all are personal blogs. These professional blogs also usually have more than one author to write their content as well.  But they are still blogs.  

Maybe the reason that so many tend to forget all about the importance of blogs in the big scheme of things is  because blogs tend to be found on so many different sites or are self hosted.  No one blogging site has total control over everyone’s blogs. There are the free blogging sites such as WordPress.com, Blogger.com, Live Journal, TypePad, Windows Live Spaces and those are just the one’s I can think of at the top of my head.  Mashable, itself a blog, names 40 free blogging sites in this post alone! Then there are the blogging platforms or hosts who charge a fee to add to the equation. 

tumblr_logo-1   Posterous_Logo

In recent years we have seen the launch of two free blogging sites who’s aim is to make it easier to post to a blog when ‘on the go’ namely Tumblr and Posterous. These two relatively ‘young’ blogging sites, often referred to as micro blogging sites try to make it easier  to blog (in my opinion) in order to capture the younger user who never seem to have the time to sit down and write long blog posts, preferring instead to have some kind of  ‘instant on the go’ method of posting up pictures or text to their blogs via their mobile phones.

Can you consider blogging as Social Networking?  Well, yes in my opinion. You create a blog. Doesn’t matter for what reason. Someone finds your blog and reads your posts. They make a comment. You comment back. You go to read their blog posts. You like what you read. You become friends with that person. That’s just the beginning. Your readership grows. The amount of other blogs that you read grows and you become friends with all the authors and they in turn become friends with you. Yes, blogging IS social networking, it can be the instigator of social networking. I know personally of people who through their blogging  have made firm friendships where they have then gone on to meet each other in person.

I wonder how many blogs IN TOTAL there are at this moment in time on the Internet?  I just wish that those who think they are ‘in the know’ about the Internet, it’s usage and where it’s all going in the future would stop forgetting the vital element that is blogging exists! 

 

TG   Blogging rules the Internet, okay?

 

About technogran
A granny and a geek? You bet! Still trying desperately to keep up with it all.

2 Responses to Blogging. The missing piece of the Internet OS.

  1. fotdmike says:

    Couldn’t be asked to read the whole of that article to which you link… particularly since the first thing I spotted was that its part two of a two-part thingie. Not sufficient time and not sufficiently interested. Hey, come on now, I may be a bit geeky… but not that geeky!
    😉

    One of the things I did pick up on though was that it sounds awfully like this concept of “cloud-based apps”, which, far as I’m concerned, though they may be useful they shouldn’t be seen as a substitute for apps installed on the client machine. After all, if we all went the cloud route we’d be stuffed when we lose internet connection. Which, given the current state of the technology, is more likely than not.

    Anyway, back to the point. Which in fact is your point about blogging.

    Yay! Blogging definitely rules. And without doubt it has to be one of the leading forms of social networking… though many users may not perceive it as such.

    And have I really wriiten such a long comment just to say that? There’s just no hope for me!

  2. technogran says:

    I did plough through it all though I found it hard work. I agree with you about using the ‘cloud’ as well. You then hand control over to other servers, they can go down, what about security? etc etc. I don’t read my emails online, write my blog posts on my desktop, use RSS feeds to read/access just about everything so I keep myself on my desktop as much as possible!

    Glad you agree with me about Blogging. Get’s overlooked by lot’s of folks though.

Leave a Reply

