There’s an API for that!

Just spent a not so amusing couple of hours trying to get a set of photos back onto my computer that I had inadvertently wiped from my camera’s memory card. Of course I had also accidentally erased it from my computer as well. When I make a mistake, I don’t do it in halves!  I searched my online SkyDrive in vain. IF I had uploaded it to my SkyDrive on Windows Live I would then have been able to easily download it from there and back to its origins on my hard drive. But for some reason, I had only uploaded this particular set of photographs to flickr. To my annoyance there seemed to be no way to download them again in case of accidents/eraser/stupidity at the users end.

searching for a download app

I honestly thought that all was lost and that I wouldn’t be able to access them , until I had the sudden brainwave to type into flickr’s search box, ‘download photos ’ and voila! Lo and behold there were some applications created just for exactly that purpose!  The most popular one by far was called Bulkr named I presume because you can actually download your entire Photostream with it! (in bulk)

Using Bulkr

So I immediately downloaded it, it did require me to also download Adobe Air as well but hey, what the heck! I was desperate! What’s a Granny trying to rectify her mistakes supposed to do? Actually its a nice looking program that simply seems to do ‘what it says on the tin.’  So if you find yourself in exactly the same situation as I did, can’t find them on your backup hard drive, have wiped them from your camera and the only other place they are available from is your photostream on Flickr, then you could do worse than download Bulkr so that you can then recover them.

I thoroughly recommend it, because its certainly saved my bacon today!

TG

About technogran
A granny and a geek? You bet! Still trying desperately to keep up with it all.

11 Responses to There’s an API for that!

  1. fotdmike says:

    Providing you haven’t used the memory card for anything else since deleting, there’s a freebie app to recover “deleted” pics from cards. I’ll see if I can dig out the link for you. Never know when it might come in handy 😉

    • technogran says:

      Thanks fotdmike,I’ll take a look at that. This program works well though, you can download your entire photostream! Hmm, wonder how long that would take?

      • fotdmike says:

        Yeah, I’ve used Bulkr. The Flickr App Garden offers a few variants of this sort of thing but Bulkr cetainly seems to be the one that works the best (well, of the three or so that I’ve tried). Dunno how it would cope with an entire photostream though. I’m too scared to try… what with having about 9.5K+ pics uploaded!

  2. technogran says:

    Well I never! So there is hope for me after all! Typical me actually. Doing some tidying up as usual..

  3. fotdmike says:

    This was the one I was thinking of. I’ve used it myself in the past and it worked fine…

    http://www.piriform.com/recuva

  4. technogran1 says:

    I’ve unistalled it now. It was just a solution to a problem (self inflicted) but it worked well. I would use it in the future whenever I repeat the blunder. I’m putting it down to these blasted bank holidays myself, when the weather is always crap and you end up indoors messing about.
    Always throws me ‘off kilter’ (well that’s my excuse)

  5. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#62) « What's On My PC

  6. Cassandra says:

    Hi TG! Sorry you are closing down your Spaces blog…I hope you realized that mostly I was kidding about the hassles of Wave 4. I found easy work-arounds for most of the “problems”. Like creating a module called “Guest Book Photos” to which I gave friends access so they could add photos (and comment on them) since we can no longer do so directly to the Guest Book. One can also choose to leave it wide open to anyone on the web so far as that goes but one grows so tired of “inappropriate” photos. Best just to trust one’s friends.

    Well, don’t forget us over here and drop by our blogs once in awhile and say “Hi” won’t you?

    hugs,

    Cass

    • technogran1 says:

      I will still be around Cassie, just not blogging on there or in such a proficient capacity. I seem to have been receiving the brunt of everyones moans and groans about the new changes which I suppose is understandable now that the Windows Live teams have chickened out and taken their blogs elsewhere because of the complaints they received in the past.
      Don’t get me wrong Cassie, everyone has their right to complain, its just that all the complaints plus the fact that our Spaces has again not been upgraded or touched on there has brought this on.

  7. Cassandra says:

    OKay well just so long as we don’t lose touch completely…I value my friends and hate losing them.
    I am also on Facebook, by the way and at MySpace (there are links in my Windows Live Proflle) so hopefully we’ll find SOME way to keep in touch!

    • technogran says:

      I am on MySpace as well Cassie, on there as Technogran On Facebook of course I am not allowed to use my Technogran name which is the one that everyone knows me as on the internet, instead I have to use my real name! Grrr!

Leave a Reply

