Windows Live Writer, Dual postings.

One if the big advantages of using Windows Live Writer to publish your blogs posts is if you have more than one blog and each is on different blogging platforms. I am in this position, I have two blogs on WordPress.com and also two on Blogger. Windows Live Writer allows me to send the same post to both at the same time, so I can do a ‘double’ posting to each one. In this post, I will be showing you how to do this, step by step.  Firstly you will need to set up both your WordPress.com blog in Live Writer and also your Blogger blog. For this how to, I’m going to use my Photo blogs in order to demonstrate how to set them up in Writer and then how to publish the exact same post to both of them.

1.In Live Writer, click on Add Blog Account from the ribbon interface. or click on the File Icon in the top right hand corner of the screen, and then from the drop down list, select Options, Accounts and finally Add.

Details for the other blog

2. Choose which Blog service you are using for the new blog and then in the window input the URL Address of your blog, your user name and your password. When that is completed, click on Next. Live Writer will then begin the ‘sync’ with your blog including its current theme. Once that has completed, you need to sync Live Writer with your other blog on the other blogging platform but this time filling in the details for that blog instead.

Setting up an account

TIP! If Live Writer has any problems correctly syncing with your blog, check the URL address, your user name and password are correct. Also try at some other time when perhaps your internet connection is at a better speed.

3. Once both blogs have been correctly set up inside Live Writer choose one of them and  begin to compose your post. 

Composed post in Blogger blog

4. Once your post is completed, publish to that particular blog. Then simply switch to the other blog by clicking on the list of Blogs in the Home ribbon. Selecting the other blog will then show the post you have just composed but now displayed in the other blog. If there is any difference in the width of the second blog, you may have to slightly adjust your formatting or size of any included photos.

Switched to other blog

5. Once you are happy with the second blogs format, publish the post up to the second blog. And that’s all there is to it!  One post to two different blogging services!

TG  ( And this post will be published to my WordPress blog at https://technograns.wordpress.com and also my other blog at http://techno-granny.blogspot.com and is for my friend Arlene)

About technogran
A granny and a geek? You bet! Still trying desperately to keep up with it all.

12 Responses to Windows Live Writer, Dual postings.

  1. SethPopowich says:

    I’ve been out walking in a winter wonderland. My fingers are too cold to type, so I leave you this simple greeting until I get back here… http://i56.tinypic.com/2saxvuu.gif

  2. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#90) « What's On My PC

  3. Arlene says:

    I’ll have another try TG, you are so patient and thanks for your know how.

    • technogran says:

      I do my how-tp’s to help other users Arlene, that’s what they are all about. Follow it and then you can post away to both Blogger AND WordPress at the same time.

  4. lily says:

    Hi
    First of all, wait a minute, did i just read granny and geek?! You’re an inspiration!!!!!

    Well seeing you’re a fan of live writer and an active blogger, where do you post your pics for your blogs?
    Blogspot only has 1G and im not sure how much word press.

    I just migrated from windows live space to word press…

    THanks!

    • technogran1 says:

      WordPress has its own incorporated ‘Media’ on your dashboard, with Blogger you can of course use Picasa. All photos/pictures included in a post using Live Writer will also be available on WordPress/Blogger as ‘thumbnails.’

  5. dquack624 says:

    Thank You So Much!
    Your instructions were so much easier than the ones on Windows Live.
    I think it was the pictures that helped so much.
    Thanks again!

    • technogran says:

      Thank you for giving me this feedback. I use pictures in my how-to’s because I know that makes it easier for people to follow the step by step instructions. Glad I could be of help.

  6. Barb says:

    HELLLLLLP Me…I want to put a water mark on my photos to upload on FB but my Windows live photo gallery for some reason wont let me do it can you help me with water marks please..
    Barb

    • Technogran says:

      You can’t place a watermark via Windows Live Photo Gallery Barb at the moment, but you can by using Windows Live Writer. However, this will only apply to any photos that you include in your blog posts. Whether or not the Photo Gallery team will add the watermark feature in the new version (when it arrives) is a moot point. Let’s hope so as it seems silly to be able to add your watermark in Live Writer and not in Photo Gallery

      • Barb says:

        Thank you very much for your help will try to do it that way then.. but do you think i’m safe with them on face book or get a water mark asap…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,917 other followers

